March 8, 2018
A Brief Guide to Georgia Car Accident Laws
A car accident is a harrowing experience. You’re worrying about injuries, if everyone is okay, and probably already thinking ahead to who was at fault. The accident could affect you physically, emotionally, and financially. Car insurance claims can be tricky and confusing. If you don’t know what you’re doing, you may settle too quickly and not get an adequate amount of what you’re owed.
When filing a car accident claim, it’s a good idea to have legal representation. If you or a loved one was hurt in an accident that wasn’t your fault, you could get compensated for your injuries, lost wages, and more. An Atlanta car wreck injury lawyer from Bey & Associates will work tirelessly to get you a favorable settlement. We’re ready to be at your side and help you get through this difficult time.
Georgia Car Accident Laws
State car accident laws can have small differences that are important for its citizens to know so they can be sure they’re following the law and won’t get in unexpected trouble. For example, Georgia has a law that prohibits teenagers and new drivers from any cell phone use while driving.
Georgia car accident laws also have a statute of limitations, meaning you have a certain amount of time to file your claim. If you were hurt in the accident, you have two years to file your claim. Property damage has 4 years to file a claim. If you’re going to file a claim it’s best to do it as soon as possible because the details are fresh in your memory and you’re giving yourself plenty of time to settle the claim.
More information you should know about car accidents in Georgia are:
- Report Accidents. You need to report car wrecks that result in injuries or death. Call for help immediately. You also need to inform police if there has been more than $500 worth of damage. Then you have to exchange the proper information with the other party or parties involved in the crash. You’ll need their name, contact information, insurance policies, and the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) of the car or cars that were in the accident.
- Hit and Run. Any time you’re in a car accident, you have to stay at the scene no matter how minor the accident. Fleeing the scene makes the accident a hit-and-run and will have more severe consequences than if you had stayed.
- Contact a Car Accident Lawyer. Your insurance policy will show you what’s covered. You can work with your lawyer to get a settlement. Depending on the effects of the car crash, the settlement could cover damages to your car or other piece of property, your medical bills for the accident and future bills you will get if you still have to see doctors, get medication, or see a specialist, lost wages if your injury prohibits you from working, and pain and suffering for the ordeal you’ve experienced.
While car accidents can cause many problems, you have people ready to help you get through it. Knowing your rights and a reputable car accident lawyer will help you if you or a loved one are ever in a car accident in the future.